Thea Selby

For City College Board 2022


Small business owner

Elected Trustee for the past 7 years with a lifelong commitment to public education, CA Dem elected delegate, and small business owner Thea Selby is a Trustee who keeps a student-centered focus on everything that she does. As Vice President, President and now Trustee, she

  • Shepherded CCSF through the past accreditation
  • As Board President, implemented FREE City College for all students and grew enrollment the first year by 25%
  • With Student Success and Policy Committee members, found $2M to lower student debt
  • Negotiated $400,000 from private developer to support student-led low-cost transit campaign

This next term, Thea will

  • Work with her colleagues to deliver accreditation once again (2023)
  • Support student-led Transit Team to secure transit passes
  • Focus on keeping finances stable and growing enrollment
  • Work to use unallocated FREE City funds to recruit students
  • Form agreement with Building Trades for students to work on $845M worth of CCSF construction projects

Thea has raised her two children in San Francisco where they attended public schools. A public school kid herself, she has an AB from UC Berkeley and an MBA from the University of Oregon where she served as President of her class.

Thea has run her communications, outreach, and marketing company Next Steps Marketing for over 20 years in the heart of San Francisco. Recently investing in an office in the theater district on Geary Street, Thea is committed to helping San Francisco thrive once again post-pandemic.

Thea has founded a variety of nonprofits and advocacy organizations over the years. Nonprofit Exceptional Women in Publishing brought women together in the publishing industry to celebrate their successes and learn from each other.  The Lower Haight Merchant + Neighbor Association, founded with Vallie Brown and Elizabeth Everhard, helps create a safe, thriving, and inclusive Lower Haight to this day. Voices for Public Transportation, founded by Peter Straus, Bob Allen and Thea, is working towards a regional transportation funding measure for accessible, affordable and abundant transportation that is powered by a bottom-up grassroots leadership. Thea is also co-Chair of the San Francisco Transit Riders, the largest public transit rider advocacy group in the Bay Area.


Elected Officials & Community Leaders

Fiona Ma, CA State Treasurer

Malia Cohen, Member, Board of Equalization

Phil Ting, District 19 Assemblymember

Scott Wiener, State Senator

Matt Haney, District 17 Assemblymember

David Campos, Vice Chair, SF Democrats

Rafael Mandelman, Supervisor, District 8

Gordon Mar, District 4 Supervisor

Myrna Melgar, District 7 Supervisor

Aaron Peskin, District 3 Supervisor

Hillary Ronen, District 9 Supervisor


National Union of Healthcare Workers

Sierra Club

San Francisco Building Trades

UA Local 38, Plumbers and Pipefitters

San Francisco Women’s Political Committee

The San Francisco Chronicle

See a full list of endorsements here.